Oscar’s will move to March in 2014

the-oscars-move-in-2014

Even the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences knows that you cannot compete with the Olympics.

Yesterday, the Academy released the schedule for next years voting, nominees luncheon and the big night, moving the even from it’s usual “last weekend in February” slot, to March 2nd. For those of you who need to get next years date on your social calendar….here are the important Oscar dates for next year. Keep in mind the final games of the 2014 Winter Olympics in Russia will take place on February 23rd.

Saturday, November 16, 2013: The Governors Awards
Monday, December 2, 2013: Official Screen Credits due
Friday, December 27, 2013: Nominations voting begins
Wednesday, January 8, 2014: Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Thursday, January 16, 2014: Oscar nominations announced
Monday, February 10, 2014: Nominees Luncheon
Friday, February 14, 2014: Final voting begins
Saturday, February 15, 2014: Scientific and Technical Awards
Tuesday, February 25, 2014: Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Oscar Sunday, March 2, 2014: 86th Academy Awards